On Friday, December 29, 1939 the Notable Northeastern Region was organized at the
14th Boule located in New York City hosted by Kappa Sigma Chapter. 

The following states were included in the Northeastern Region; Virginia, Kentucky, Pennsylvania, New York, Maryland, District of Columbia, and all New England States.

The chapters included were, Alpha Zeta (Virginia State University,) Alpha Pi (Hunter College,) Alpha Phi (Howard University,) Tau (Virginia Union University,) Iota Sigma (Richmond, VA,) Kappa Sigma (New York City, NY,) 
Phi Sigma (Washington, D.C,) Omega Sigma (Newport News, VA.)

The First Northeastern Region Syntaktes was Soror Edna Forrest Browne of Phi Sigma Chapter, Washington, DC who was fondly referred to as the Mother of the Northeastern Region.

The first meeting of the Northeastern Region was called to order one hundred thirty-three days after its birth. Soror Edna Forest Browne, First Northeastern Region Syntaktes called this meeting to order, Saturday, May 11, 1940 on the campus of Virginia Union University in Richmond, VA. The first meeting was hosted by the following chapters: Omega Sigma Chapter, Tau Chapter, and Alpha Zeta Chapter. 

The Northeastern Region is currently comprised of the following areas: 

  • Bermuda
  • Eastern Canada
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Korea
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • New Hampshire
  • New York
  • New Jersey
  • North Carolina
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Vermont 
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia

Log in

PO Box 8252

Rocky Mount, NC 27804

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software